Rooftop Confessions

Rooftop Confessions
Written June 2006
Rated PG
Synopsis: House has a confession.

Disclaimer: The characters within are property of Heel & Toe, Shore Z. Productions, Bad Hat Harry Productions, and other corporations. No infringement is intended.


“What are you doing up here?”

Gregory House twisted his neck in a way only a contortionist could achieve to see the Dean of Medicine staring at him from the doorway. “Oh, drat. You found my secret hiding place. Now I have to kill you.”

“Everyone has hidden on the hospital roof at one time or another. Nothing secret about it.”

“Have you hidden up here?”

Lisa Cuddy gave a small smile. “There’s no meteor shower tonight, so I can only assume you’re lying on your back, staring at the stars, because you’re deep in thought.”

“Well, not anymore.” He looked back at her again. “Why don’t you come a little bit closer so I can look up your skirt.”

She walked over to him but didn’t stand in an opportune location. Instead, she sat down then eased onto her back and lay beside him. “Beautiful view.”

“Would’ve been better if you were still standing. I could see the stars and the moon that way.”

She elbowed him in the ribs. “You’ll be seeing stars, all right.”

They shared a comfortable silence, interrupted only by the distant sound of traffic on the street below.  Her presence didn’t bother him, but the quiet contemplation he had sought was no longer appealing.  “So what are you doing up here?”

“My head diagnostician vanished.  I sought him out.”

“Uh huh.”

“What, I can’t be concerned about your well-being?”

“I suspect your concern has more to do with Wilson’s weekend oncology seminar in Manhattan than it does with, you know, concern.  He wanted you to check on me periodically, is that it?”

“Not at all.  I just needed some fresh air and scintillating conversation.”

“You’re a terrible liar.”

She gave him a dirty look. “A little birdie told me you invited Cameron to dinner tonight.”

“Ah ha. Did that little birdie have an Australian accent?”

“That’s between me and the birdie.  I didn’t realize you were interested in her.”

“Jealous?”

“Hardly.”  When she spoke again, the teasing tone was gone, and she seemed genuinely interested.  “So how’d it go?”

“You’d never believe it.”

“Try me.”

“I told her I was in love.” Cuddy turned her head and stared at him. He chuckled at her expression. “Does my confession surprise you? Sure as hell surprised her.”

She stuttered her way into a sentence. “I-I always assumed you were too…”

“Self-centered?”

“No.  Afraid.”

He looked at the sky again and didn’t say anything. After a moment, Cuddy looked up too.  An airplane flew high overhead, its blinking red lights barely visible in the darkness. “Maybe I am. Maybe I’m not anymore. That’s why I came up here.  To figure it out.”

“You don’t have to tell me about this.”

“I know.”

“But I appreciate you trusting me enough to tell me something.”

“I know that too.”

Silence stretched on as they both considered his confession. Then Cuddy began to laugh. “I’m sorry,” she apologized.  “I’m just trying to imagine how such a romantic admission would sound coming out of your mouth.”

“Gee, thanks.”

“Oh, come on, House. Everybody knows you’re not exactly in touch with your sentimental side.”

“I’ll have you know that I can be sentimental.”

“Yeah, right.”

“You just want to know what I said.  The suspense is eating away at you.”

“Yes!” she said, chuckling again.

“Well, since it’s you…” He rolled over to face her and propped his head up with an arm. She did the same, grinning like a mischievous child.

“Was your confession coupled with an insult?”

“That wouldn’t be very romantic, would it?”

“So it was romantic?”

“Geez, Cuddy, you sound so wistful.”

“Women are generally wistful. So come on. What did you say?”

He took a breath. “I said, ‘I’ve fallen in love … with one of the sexiest, most brilliant, and completely infuriating doctors on the face of the planet. She makes me feel that I have the chance to be truly happy.'”

Cuddy smiled. “What did she say?”

“She said, ‘Then why are you here with me when you should be with her?'” He met her gaze. “So here I am.”

The End

Comments are love - post yours here:

