Reunited II 3/4

Reunited II
Written August 1996
Rated PG-13
Synopsis: When Scully discovers who killed her husband, she decides to avenge his death in the only way she knows how–kill the murderer.  Sequel to “Reunited.”

Disclaimer: The characters you recognize belong to Chris Carter, 1013 Productions, and Fox Television. The following songs were used: “Power of Two” by the Indigo Girls (written by Emily Saliers) and “Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)” performed and written by Billy Joel.  No infringement is intended.

A Youtube version of “Power of Two” can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hj0yVN8pFNw
A Youtube version of “Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)” can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcnd55tLCv8


For the next hour, while Scully did Samantha’s hair, they looked through old photo albums and discussed her life.

“It was mid-September, and . . . Frank never came home.” Scully sighed, starting on the last strand of hair. “A few days later, they found his body in the front seat of his car at the U.N. building. It looked like a suicide–it was very believable.”

“But you knew he didn’t kill himself.”

She nodded. “It wasn’t like him. Which led me to believe it was murder, but I had no proof. We’d never been threatened, and the KGB had been out of his life for seven years. I couldn’t come up with a list of suspects, so there never was an investigation. I’ve lived with the mystery for eight months, and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about it. When I find the man who did this to him . . . I swear I’ll kill him.” Her voice had long since grown to a whisper, and she began to sob.

Samantha turned around and gave her a hug. “It’s okay. There was nothing you could’ve done.”

She nodded and sniffed. “I know. It still haunts me, you know? I still have nightmares, and I think I always will. Until I avenge his death.” The face of Cancerman entered her thoughts viciously. She pushed it out of her mind.

“I wish there was something I could do.”

She smiled, squeezing her shoulder. “You and Mulder are so wonderful. Always helpful.”

Sam gazed at her. “He loves you so much.”

“And I love him.” She glanced at Sam’s reflection in the mirror. “I think I like it that way.”

She took a long look at herself. “You did such a nice job, Dana. Thank you.”

“I’ve been out of practice. Thank you for letting me.”

Scully took several of the curled strands and moved them so they fell along Samantha’s cheek. On the other side of her face, she clipped them back. “Now for the makeup.”

Coincidentally, the moment she finished with Samantha, Mulder arrived home. “Sam? I’m back!” He heard footsteps coming into the kitchen and turned. His breath caught in his throat. “Sam?”

She giggled. “Do you like it?” She was wearing jeans and a T-shirt that matched the color of lipstick Scully had given her. Her hair was gorgeous, a gothic style right out of ‘Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.’

“Sam . . . you look beautiful.” He gave his little sister a hug. “I can’t believe how much you look like Mom.”

“Well, sans the grey hair, I do.” She grinned. “I owe it all to Dana.”

They looked at Scully, who leaned casually against the wall, arms folded across her chest, her smile big and bright. “I never knew you were so talented,” he told her.

“Me, neither.” She glanced at Sam. “You do look nice.”

“Thanks, both of you.” She looked at her watch. “Hey, it’s almost three-thirty. I’m kinda hungry.”

“Help yourself,” Scully told her as the woman practically skipped into the kitchen.

Mulder went up to her. “You did that?”

“Well, she needed a little boost in her appearance.”

“You made her so happy, Scully.” He smiled. “Thank you.”

“You’re welcome.”

He kissed her. “You’re the best.”

“I know.”

He chuckled. “Scully, I have to tell you that I . . . I love you so much.” He stroked her cheek.

She grinned, repeating, “I know.” She patted his arm. “Go talk to your sister.”

He entered the kitchen, where Sam was pouring a can of chicken noodle soup into a pan on the stove. She looked up and grinned. “Hi, Fox.”

“Hi.” He hugged her again. “What do you say we go visit Mom tomorrow?”

“In Greenwich?”

“Yeah. We can bring Scully and Adam . . . ”

“Why do you still call her Scully?”

“It’s just an old habit of affection.”

“Well, try to make a new habit by calling her Dana.”

Scully walked into the room. “I’m off to pick up Adam now.” She grabbed her keys from the table by the door. “I’ll be back in a little bit.” In no time, she was gone.

Mulder frowned. She was still shy when it came to physical contact between the two of them. He wondered why but wasn’t looking to lose any sleep over it.

***

“Daddy!”

“Well, hi, Adam.” Mulder picked his son up off the ground and hugged him. “Did you have fun at school today?”

“Yes. I can’t wait to go back!”

He frowned. “You’re the only kid I know who likes school.”

“I know.” He giggled. “Wow, Aunt Sam, you look pretty.”

She smiled softly. “Thank you, Adam. Hey, would you like to show me your superheroes?”

“Yeah.” He started up the stairs.

“Adam!” Mulder called.

“What?”

“Where’s your mother?”

“Outside.”

“Thanks.” He headed outside and found her picking cherries off a tree in the backyard. “I never knew that you planted fruit trees.”

“I don’t.” She waited until he was next to her. “It was Frank’s. He loved cherries. He loved all fruits.” She pulled a stem off and ate the cherry. “Mmm, perfect.” She grabbed the basket on the ground and started to pick cherries off the tree.

“What are we doing?”

“They’re ready to be made into pie. I figured that could be this afternoon’s chore.”

“Did he teach you this?”

“No, my mother did. He taught me about the tree and how to care for it. I was never very good with plants.”

“Really?”

“Mulder, I killed plastic flowers. You can’t get much worse than that.”

“You are a woman of many talents.”

Once they had picked enough cherries for a pie, they carried the basket into the house and began to bake. Soon enough, the whole family was there, helping to roll the dough and clean the cherries.

Finally, it was in the oven and baking. All four of them wiped the counters and piled dishes into the dishwasher.

Sam started on dinner. Maggie had come over one afternoon and taught her how to cook. Adam went to take a bath, and Mulder and Scully retired to the living room.

She spread the papers from her portfolio out on the coffee table and plopped down on the floor, sighing deeply.

He frowned. “What are you doing?”

“Bureau stuff,” she answered simply, crankily. “I have to read over some paperwork that some of the younger agents did. Make sure they’re all right.”

“Need some help?”

“I don’t really know if there’s anything you can do about it. I mean, it has to be signed by director or assistant director.”

“Well, I’ll read it, you sign it.” He grinned and knelt behind her. “I’ll just massage your shoulders instead.”

“Thanks.” She started reading, but his massage made her mind wander. She felt bad about dismissing his physical signs of affection. She was still a little nervous when it came to his touch. They had never been lovers before their last night together, only friends. Sure, at times, she had wished they were more, but neither of them had ever made much of a move to change it.

She thought back to when she had told him she loved him. “I don’t know how or why, but I do.”  And it was true: she did love him. Even more so now.  But why do I still get a little scared when he touches me?  And then she knew.  Am I still too broken up over Kwan to let myself fall in love again? Maybe. What if I let myself fall in love again? Then what? Why not find out?

She turned around and planted a kiss on Mulder’s lips. Then she looked at him.

He smiled. “Didn’t realize I was that good a masseur.”

She raised an eyebrow. “Oh. Sorry.”

He chuckled. “Don’t be sorry.” He opened his arms, and she cradled herself in them, much like she had before they had made love. “You weren’t thinking about the paperwork, were you?”

“You know me so well.”

“What were you thinking about?”

“You mean you don’t know?” She grinned. “I love you.”

“I love you, too.” He returned the favor by kissing her.

Sam walked into the room and cleared her throat. Startled, they both readjusted their positions and faced her. She giggled. “Dinner is served, but I can see you’re already having dessert.”

“Well, Sam, you know,” Mulder began, his arm around Scully, “life is short. Eat dessert first.”

Adam came into the living room. “Dessert?”

Scully laughed. “He has your love for dessert, Mulder.”

“No, as I remember, you could down three hot fudge sundaes before I could.”

She groaned. “Oh, I forgot about that.”

Adam sat down by them. “Mommy? I thought you said it wasn’t good to have more than one dessert.”

She covered her face with her hands. “Can you forgive me, Adam?”

“Yeah,” he said, hugging her. “Can we eat now? I’m hungry.”

Sam clapped her hands together. “Yes, it’s ready. Come on.”

Adam raced into the kitchen after his aunt. Mulder kissed Scully again. “Let’s go.”

She took his hand and followed him to the dinner table.

***

9:30 P.M.

Krycek looked at the person entering his cell. “Oh, what now?”

“Why are you in jail, Alex?” The man inhaled the smoke from his Morley and blew it out of his mouth.

“Because I am.”

“That’s not good enough. Mulder and Scully aren’t dead, are they?”

“What do you think?”

The man grabbed his neck. “Don’t mess with me, Alex. You tried it once, but I gave you another chance. This was your last chance, Alex. No more.” He snapped his fingers, and three men entered the cell. Krycek’s eyes grew wide at the sight.

He had never smelled death before. And the stench was too much to bear.

***

Meanwhile . . .

Adam yawned. “Bedtime. Mommy, will you tuck me in please? You come, too, Dad.”

Samantha departed for her room in the basement, wishing every sweet dreams, while the others made their way upstairs.

Adam was almost asleep by the time he reached his bed. Scully knelt down beside the bed and softly began to sing. “Goodnight, my angel, time to close your eyes and save these questions for another day. I think I know what you’ve been asking me; I think you know what I’ve been trying to say.”

Mulder joined in, and their voices blended to put their son to sleep. “I promised I would never leave you, and you should always know. Wherever you may go, no matter where you are, I never will be far away.”

Scully stood and whispered, “He’s asleep. Come on.”

Once they had reached the foot of the stairs, he grinned. “You still remember that song?”

“How could I forget? Every time I had the flu, you’d baby me and play that song until I fell asleep. It’s the only lullaby I like.”

“Your parents sang you ones you didn’t like?”

“I was never sung to. Well, I was, but I don’t remember anything.”

“Why don’t you ask your mother?”

“Because that song was another way of linking you and Adam. He’s grown up with it. When he wants me to sing to him, that’s what I sing.”

He hugged her quickly. “I’m going to get a glass of water. Want anything?”

“No. I’m going to take a shower.” She headed for the bathroom and disappeared.

***

Mulder sat on Scully’s bed, looking at the pictures of Adam that he now had in his possession. He still couldn’t believe it; he was a father! He’d never felt so wonderful in his life. And Adam was a wonderful son.

And Scully would make a wonderful wife, he found himself thinking before he even knew it was happening.  No, that would be too . . . weird. I still call her Scully, for Christ’s sake!

Just then, Scully walked into her bedroom. Her white, terry cloth robe was loosely tied around her waist, her auburn hair dripping slightly with water. She jumped when she saw Mulder. “I thought you’d have gone to bed.”

“No. I was just looking at these pictures of Adam and . . . reminiscing.” But he couldn’t bring himself to tell her what he was reminiscing about. “You were in there a long time.”

“I was very dirty,” she replied with a small smile on her face when she noted him looking a bit lower than her face. She turned to the dresser to pull out some clothes. “What did you decide?”

He frowned. “Decide?”

“You know, while you were . . . reminiscing.”

He swallowed. “Oh, nothing really. I was just letting my thoughts wander.”

“Of course.” But they both knew she didn’t believe him.

He watched her from behind as she decided what to wear. He crossed the room and put his arms around her waist, resting his head on her shoulder. “Oh, Scully.”

She trembled slightly. “What?”

“Thank you for letting Sam and me stay here.”

“Certainly. You are Adam’s father, and she is Adam’s aunt.” The smell of his aftershave began to go to her head; she wondered how a smell could cling to a man for such a long period of time.

“And Scully?”

“Yeah, Mulder?”

He reached for the knot on her robe. “I can’t get you out of my mind.” He pulled one of the pieces through, kissing her neck. “But I don’t understand why.”

“You’ve been in my mind as well,” she answered in a whisper, her hands caressing his. “But I know why.”

“I’m glad one of us still has common sense.”

She shook her head, smiling. “No. We both have it because this . . . this makes sense.” She turned around and faced him, the robe sliding off her shoulders once the knot had become undone.

He looked at her almost sadly. “You’re still gorgeous.”

She smiled, tears in her eyes. “I still love you.”

He cupped her face in his hands and kissed her with the most passion he could possibly give to her. With that one kiss, they both knew that no matter how far apart they were, for no matter how long, they were still, and always would be, together.

He guided her to the bed and eased down next to her. “Well, Dana Katherine Scully, what happens now?”

“Just you wait, Fox William Mulder, just you wait.” She crossed the room and, with a mischievous smile on her face, turned off the lights.

And then the night began.

So we’re okay, we’re fine
Baby, I’m here to stop your crying
Chase all the ghosts from your head
I’m stronger than the monster beneath your bed
Smarter than the tricks played on your heart
We’ll look at them together, then we’ll take ’em apart
Adding up the total of a love that’s true
Multiply life by the power of two

Scully sighed dreamily, staring at the heap of clothes on the floor. Then she turned to Mulder, who was laying in bed beside her, still sleeping. She smiled slightly. Their lovemaking had been so much like the first time, yet still very different.

Probably because we had to keep it down, she chuckled.  With Adam and Samantha around, we couldn’t enjoy ourselves too much.

Mulder stirred, nuzzling his nose in her cheek. Then a smile formed on his lips, and he opened his eyes. “Mmm . . . I wasn’t dreaming.”

“I certainly hope not.” She smiled and kissed him sweetly. “Sleep well?”

“Mmm hmm.” He grinned sleepily. “You know, Scully, I’m not worthy.”

“Worthy of what?”

“Worthy of you. You’re too good for me. How ever did you fall in love with a guy like me?”

“Hmm . . . ” She propped herself up. “Well, let’s see. You’re very loving, very polite. Your sense of humor is corny, but it never fails in making me laugh after a bad day. Gee, I don’t know, Mulder . . . just because.”

He nodded as if he understood, then chuckled, pulling her down into a long kiss.

They were interrupted by the telephone ringing. Mulder put a finger to her lips. “Hold that thought.” He picked it up. “Hello? . . . Yes, this is he . . . What? Are you sure? . . . Okay, I’ll be right there.” He hung up the phone. “Dammit.”

“What? What is it?” Concern clouding her face, she sat up in bed. “Mulder, what’s going on?”

He pulled his jeans on and sighed. “It’s Krycek. He was moved to a Washington hospital.”

“Hospital? Why?”

“Someone used his head for a punching bag last night. Well . . . not just his head.”

She frowned. “Is he dead?”

“Not yet. Funny thing, though. He wants to talk to me. Care to come along?”

She glanced at the clock. It was 7:50. Today was the day. But she still didn’t know what to do.

“Scully? You coming?”

She knew he expected her to come. He figured she would because Krycek never asked for people who hated him unless it was something very important. And Mulder surely hated him. But she had other business to take care of. It was almost 8:00.

“Scully! This isn’t a difficult question.”

She looked up at him, distracted by the glowing red numbers on her alarm clock. “Yeah. I’ll meet you there.”

“Okay.” He bent and kissed her forehead, then headed out of the house, still putting his shirt on, shoes in hand.

Scully watched him leave, then mustered herself out of bed. She put on her normal day-off attire, all except for one thing.

To her belt, she attached her gun holster and, after making sure it was fully loaded, added her gun.

***

Good Samaritan Hospital
Washington, D.C.
7:54 A.M.

Mulder rushed to the nurses’ station. “Excuse me, I’m here to see an Alex Krycek. I’m Fox Mulder.”

The woman nodded. “He’s in ICU. Go to the second floor, hang a left, you can’t miss it.”

“Thank you.” He headed back to the elevator and was on the next floor in no time. He discovered ICU and walked inside.

After learning of Krycek’s room number, he arrived there and saw the man lying on the bed.

IVs went in and out of his body. He was on a respirator. His skin was grotesque-looking with bruises of every color. His eyes were puffy and black and blue. One of them was swollen shut.

Mulder frowned. “Who did you piss off this time?”

“Always full of wit, aren’t you, Mulder?” His voice was hoarse and raspy. “Because of you, I’m here in this hospital.”

He sighed. “What do you want with me? You gonna jump out of bed and beat me up?”

He probably would have, but the slightest movement caused him great pain. “Take a look at my chart, Mulder. I pose no threat to you. Doctors don’t think I have much of a chance to live. Which is why I had you come.”

“Want me to be in charge of your funeral?”

“No. I want you to shut up and listen to me. It’s about Samantha.”

“My sister?” He felt the pit of his stomach begin to ache. “What did you do to her?”

“Did you have the doctors do extensive testing when you sent me to jail and had her examined?”

“That doesn’t concern you.”

“Like hell it does!” He grunted as pain shot through his head. “Just listen to me. Your sister has a rare illness, which is what the medication was for. Within a few years, she will be fully cured, but if she’s off of it for an extended period of time . . . ”

“How did you learn this?”

Krycek sighed. “Director Scully was wrong all along. The testing done on Samantha was not at all done on earth.”

He sat down slowly. “She was abducted?”

“Yes. And They returned her to me. Well, it wasn’t really Their doing. Someone else assisted in this.”

“Who?”

Krycek dismissed his question. “Overall, They treated her very well. They followed up on human culture so when she returned she would be just like everyone else. But your sister still needs a thorough examination.” He sighed. “She has given birth to two children. Two . . . alien/human hybrids. This illness was a result of the pregnancies.”

“You’re lying.”

“Look at her neck. She has the same mark as Director Scully. Samantha has several scars that you may not notice right away. Chances are the doctors who initially examined her did not see them.”

“Why are they giving her medicine to cure her then?”

“It’s not Them that’s doing it. It’s the humans who were involved. She is the only one who has ever successfully given birth and survived. They’d like to keep it that way.”

“But why her?”

“Because she was chosen by the human team who assisted the aliens.” He sighed. “It’s all too confusing for you to understand fully.”

“Why doesn’t she remember anything?”

“Because the medicine that will save her life will also block and eventually erase her memory of the incident. That’s why the implant is still in her brain. You can’t allow anyone to remove it. It’s the only thing that’s keeping her alive.”

Mulder swallowed hard. “They . . . they removed an implant that was in her nose at the hospital. Will that–”

Krycek shook his head slowly. “No. It was there for cataloging purposes. It’s okay.” He paused. “The only thing that you can do is get the medicine.”

He started to nod, then stood up.  This is crazy. Why am I listening to him?  “I don’t believe you.”

“Mulder, she’ll die.”

“Why should I believe any of this?” he yelled.

Krycek whimpered softly as more pain ripped through his body. “You have to,” he whispered. “It’s all true.”

“Give me one good reason I should believe any of this.”

He cried out in pain. Mulder, concerned, headed for the door. “Nurse! Can we get some help in here?”

“Mulder . . . ” came Krycek’s weak voice.

He approached his bedside and bent down. “What?” he hissed. Nurses bustled into the room, preparing medicine.

“Sir, you’re going to have to leave the room,” one of them told Mulder.

“No!” Krycek called out. “Mulder, you have to believe me.”

Mulder waved the nurses away for a moment. He had to know . . . “Why should I believe what you’ve just told me about Samantha?”

“Where’s Scully?”

“What do you mean–where’s Scully?”

“Tell me where she is.”

He frowned. “She told me she’d meet me down here.”

He sneered. “Wrong.”

***

Scully’s home
7:58 A.M.

Samantha wandered up the stairs, followed by Fox. She sent him outside and started making breakfast. Adam came down, all dressed for school.

“Hi, Aunt Samantha,” he greeted cheerfully, grabbing a box of cereal from the lower shelves.

“Hi, Adam.” She smiled warmly, then scoffed at his choice of breakfast. “Is that what you’re going to eat?”

“Yeah. It’s what I always eat.”

“How would you like it if I made you French toast?”

He nodded. “Did you know that French toast isn’t French?”

“It isn’t?” She pulled a skillet out from underneath the stove.

“Nope. My second dad, Frank, was from France, and he said that neither French toast nor French fries were from France.” He paused. “Where is Mom and Dad anyway?”

“I don’t know.” She spotted a note on the refrigerator. She read it silently. “Oh, your uncle will be by to pick you up for school. Your mom didn’t say where they were going.”

“Oh. Okay.”

Sam frowned when Adam wasn’t looking. Something just didn’t feel right.

***

Good Samaritan Hospital

“‘Wrong’? What do you mean ‘wrong’?” Mulder had a feeling that Krycek was just playing games with him. What would he want with Scully?

“Scully isn’t here yet because she isn’t coming.”

His eyes grew wide. “What?”

“Do you remember how I told you that her husband was murdered, and I knew who did it? We made a little deal . . . ” He smiled evilly. “She’s getting her revenge as we speak.”

“Where the hell is she, Krycek?”

There was a loud beeping noise coming from one of the monitors. Krycek’s heartbeat increased, and he started to wheeze. His eyes began to close. He was slipping away.

Mulder grabbed his shoulders. “Krycek! Don’t die on me now, you son of a bitch. Where is she?”

“Sir, you have to leave!” the nurse shouted.

“No! Not until I found out where she is!”

“This man is dying! You’re in the way!”

He looked down at Krycek, whose lips were moving. He leaned over to listen. Krycek whispered, “900 West Georgia Street,” and then he was gone.

The beeping stopped abruptly. A straight line appeared where there had been a jagged one earlier. A long tone started up, coming from another machine. Krycek’s face, however battered and bruised, had never looked more at peace.

Mulder glanced at the nurses. They were all wide-eyed and speechless. He looked out the window. It was dark and gloomy, rain coming down in sheets, thunder and lightning occurring frequently. He looked back at Krycek and wondered why the man had confessed.

Suddenly frightened, he ran out into the storm.

***

Samantha had just waved goodbye to her nephew when the rain had began.

That’s strange, she thought. There wasn’t a call for rain on the forecast. And when I woke up, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.  She was shaken out of her thoughts by the telephone. She picked it up. “Hello?”

“Sam, it’s me.”

“Fox! Oh, Fox, where are you?”

“Krycek’s dead.”

She gasped. “Oh, no.”

“And you’re . . . you’re supposed to take these pills or something . . . ”

“I know; I have them.”

“Sam, did he . . . treat you well?”

“Yes, Fox, he was very nice to me.” She frowned at the pause. “What else? Where’s Dana?”

“She’s gone, Sam.”

“Gone? Gone where?”

“No, that’s not what I mean. She’s gone off her rocker. She went to kill the man who murdered her husband.”

“She knows?”

“Krycek told her.” He sighed.  She made a deal with the devil.  “I’m going over there to stop her now.”

“Be careful.”

“I will.”

“Where is she?”

“Uh, 900 West Georgia Street. Take care, Sam. I’ll call later.”

“Okay.” She hung up the phone and reached for her coat and an umbrella. There was something she had to do.

She began to rummage through Scully’s room.

Halfway across town, Mulder stepped more forcefully on the gas pedal.

End of Part 3

Comments are love - post yours here:

