Reunited I 4/4

Reunited I
Written August 1995
Rated PG-13
Synopsis: It’s the year 2007, and Mulder returns to D.C. after being gone for five years to ask for Scully’s help in finding his sister, only to discover things about themselves that they never knew.  Written as a series finale.
Spoilers: small scenes from “Squeeze,” “Red Museum,” and the pilot

Disclaimer: The characters you recognize belong to Chris Carter, 1013 Productions, and Fox Television. No infringement is intended.


The door opened again, and Krycek stepped in. “Hello.”

Mulder sighed. “Do you just come in whenever you want, or do you plan this?”

“I come in whenever I want, and, yes, I planned this.” He picked up their plates. “I’ve planned to kill you for a very long time. And then I was given the perfect opportunity.”

“Really?”

“Yes. These people came to me, told me that if I wanted you to take your sister. So they gave her to me. I swore not to harm her, and I won’t.” He shrugged. “But I also swore to kill you the two of you and look! I got you at the same time, which makes my job a whole lot easier.” He glanced at his watch before leaving. “Just under an hour. I’m glad the sun is one thing you can count on being on schedule.” He left.

Mulder frowned, pulling Scully to him. “I dragged you into this.”

“No, you didn’t. I agreed to come.”

“I still think it’s my fault. If there is a chance that one of us can escape, you go.”

“Me?” She sat up. “I’m not going to leave you here alone.”

“But you have a son.”

“So do you.”

“I also made a vow to find my sister.”

“You found her. Krycek said he wouldn’t hurt her; he’s under oath, so to speak. You’ll find her again. Mulder, I can’t leave you.”

“If the opportunity presents itself, and you don’t go, I’ll …” He smiled at her overly serious expression. He kissed her quickly. “Don’t look at me that way.”

“I outrank you.”

“Don’t pull rank either.”

“I could hurt you.”

He sighed. “You always get your way, you know that?”

“Not always, but lately.” She smiled. “I leave with you or I stay with you.”

“It looks like you’re going to have to stay with me. There’s about a half an hour left.”

She read the watch and leaned against him. “I wouldn’t die with anyone else.”

Krycek came in fifteen minutes later. “Hello once more. This will be the final time you see me before you get killed.”

“Why do you want us dead so badly?” Scully asked.

“I was ordered to kill you.” There was a pause. “I was also ordered to kill your husband.”

She gasped. “You son of a bitch.” She tried to get up to strangle him, but Mulder held her down. “Why?”

“I can’t tell you. But I can leave you with this, Director Scully. I did not pull the trigger.”

“Who did?”

“That I cannot tell you either. It was done to look like a suicide, but I knew no one would believe it. He was very happy with you.” He sighed. “But that was then. This is now.” He bowed and stepped out.

Mulder stroked Scully’s hair. “I’m sorry.”

“I’ll haunt him with you.”

He smiled. “For anything I ever did, I’m sorry.”

“I am, too, for all of my sins.”

“Okay. Now that we’ve apologized and confessed–what is there left to do?”

She sighed, her voice strained. “Hope.”

***

6:42 A.M.

Bell and another man entered the cell. He held up a gun; the other man was unarmed. “Would you please stand up? The sun has risen.”

***

Meanwhile…

“What are you going to do to my brother?”

“Samantha, you’re confused,” Krycek declared. “You’re still on your medication.”

“I may be on medication, but I know what I’m talking about.” She pushed a lock of copper hair behind her ear. “Tell me what you’re going to do to him.”

He sighed; he had grown rather fond of her and couldn’t lie. “I had them killed.”

She frowned angrily, her voice rising. “When?”

He glanced at his watch. “Now, actually.”

“How could you?” She grabbed the nearby lamp before he knew what was happening and hit him, knocking him to the floor, unconscious. She pulled his gun out of its holster and ran down the hall. She knew exactly which door it was…

***

Mulder rose, holding Scully’s hand and pulling her up. They remained linked and glanced at each other. Emotions surged between them, and they turned to face the assassins. Bell cocked his gun…

Samantha saw the door. It was just within her sight. She reached for it and turned the handle, flinging it open…

Following a tense silence so thick that it could be cut by only the sharpest knife, a pair of bullets shot out of a single gun, taking two lives and leaving the night behind.

The End

Comments are love - post yours here:

