Reunited I 3/4

Reunited I
Written August 1995
Rated PG-13
Synopsis: It’s the year 2007, and Mulder returns to D.C. after being gone for five years to ask for Scully’s help in finding his sister, only to discover things about themselves that they never knew.  Written as a series finale.
Spoilers: small scenes from “Squeeze,” “Red Museum,” and the pilot

Disclaimer: The characters you recognize belong to Chris Carter, 1013 Productions, and Fox Television. No infringement is intended.


After they returned home and put the groceries away, Scully called her mother. Mulder waited until her call was finished. “What was that all about?”

She looked up at him. “I know this is going against my better judgement, but I’ve decided to go with you to find your sister.”

He grinned. “Thank you, Scully. You don’t know how much this means to me.”

“I find it difficult to turn down my best friend.”

***

Annapolis, Maryland
6:30 P.M.

“Hi, Mom.” Scully hugged her mother briefly and walked inside.

Margaret patted her grandson on the head and smiled at the man following him. “Hello, Fox.”

“Mrs. Scully.” He shook her hand. “Nice to see you again.”

“The feeling is mutual.”

Scully kneeled. “Adam, you be good for your grandma, okay?”

“I will, Mommy.”

She kissed him. “I love you.”

“Be careful, Dana,” her mother warned. Then she whispered, “Take good care of her, Fox.”

“I promise.”

They left after bidding goodbye to Adam again, getting in the car and driving to the bureau.

“So where do we look first?” Mulder asked.

“I’m going to check out work. I can ask my assistant director if he’s heard anything.”

“Who’s that?”

“You wouldn’t believe it.”

***

J. Edgar Hoover building
7:10 P.M.

“Joe Stenwick!” It was not a face he had expected to see. He and Joe grew up together in Chillmark. They both decided to join the FBI, but Joe went to college in Massachusetts whereas Mulder shipped himself off to England.

The dark-haired man looked up and gasped. “Fox! Long time, no see, buddy. I didn’t even know you were in town.” He cocked his head at Scully. “Where have you been hiding him?”

“In the basement with my …” She smiled slightly. “Pinto.”

“Oh, Fox?”

“What?” Mulder questioned.

Joe chuckled. “No. I meant Fox, the dog.”

He sighed at the director. “You’re going to have to rename that thing.”

She shook her head. “Anyway, we came down here to ask you if you’ve heard anything.”

“On what?”

“Samantha,” Mulder answered.

“Samantha? What do you mean?”

“Do you know where she might be located?”

“No. What’s this all about?”

“I heard from one of my sources that she’s in town or in the vicinity. If this is true, we have to find her. We were thinking that maybe someone has tried to contact us on her whereabouts.”

He shrugged. “I haven’t heard anything. Dana, have you checked your mail or phone messages?”

“No. I’ll be right back.”

When she was gone, Mulder winced. “You call your boss by her first name?”

“We’ve been through a lot these past five years. It’s allowed when no one is around.”

“You must’ve been. I was her partner for ten years, and we never got to that stage.”

“You should’ve come back sooner. There were a lot of changes involved.”

“I can imagine. Scully has given me a rundown of everything.”

“She’s done a great job. Everything works more smoothly, the people are happier, and–this is the biggest shocker–no one’s afraid to ask for a raise because she usually grants it.”

His eyes widened. “Do you think she’d rehire me?”

Scully walked in. “I think this is something you’re going to want to see.” She handed Mulder a piece of computer paper. The perforated edges were still intact. Mulder ripped them off as he read the following:

Dear Director Scully,

We know that Mulder must be with you–we tracked him to your location. Both of you, come to Arlington National Cemetery at midnight on April 24 for the answers you seek. You won’t believe your eyes.

It wasn’t signed, which puzzled Mulder. “How can you send E-mail without signing your screen name to it?”

“I don’t know,” she answered, her voice suddenly smaller. “But they obviously figured out how.”

Joe shook his head slowly. “I don’t like the sound of that.”

“I don’t care what the risks are,” Mulder announced. “I have to find Samantha.”

Scully sighed but said nothing. Joe was about to protest, but she held a hand up to silence him. “I’ll still come with you. I have to get a loaded gun, though. There’s no way I’m going to a cemetery at midnight without protection, especially when they say ‘you won’t believe your eyes’.”

He nodded. “Will you loan me one? I seem to have turned mine in five years ago instead of keeping it as a souvenir.”

“If I loan you a gun and you shoot somebody, not only will you be arrested but so will I.”

“Joe?”

He held his hands up. “Sorry. My ass is in enough hot water as it is.”

Scully chuckled. “He did some field work against my orders.”

“Joe, you should know better than to ignore Scully.”

“So should you,” she replied hastily. “Thanks, Joe.”

“Sure. Nice to see you again, Fox. Promise you’ll come to me first next time. Scully keeps you hidden from all view.”

“I promise.”

***

Scully’s home
8:00 P.M.

“I don’t get it.”

“Get what?”

Mulder shrugged. “How you can afford all of this on an FBI director’s salary.” They were sitting outside by the swimming pool. Scully was wearing a swimsuit, dangling her legs in the water. Mulder was still fully clothed.

“I told you that I didn’t buy it. Kwan did.”

“Well, how come he had so much money?”

She shook her head. “Skinner had paid him for being a walk-in with the FBI. And I’m sure that he got paid a pretty penny from the KGB, up until it collapsed, that is.”

“Even though he was a traitor?”

She shrugged. “The world works in mysterious ways. He had more money than he knew what to do with.” Her voice softened. “He told me he had nothing else to do with it except spend it on me. I was the only person he ever loved.” She slipped into the water, turning around to look at him. “What?”

“You two had one of the strangest relationships.” He smiled, flopping onto his stomach. “Let’s go over this. You meet accidentally, when you witnessed Trask exchanging blueprints with the KGB. He told you when people were going to kill you, and he testified in your trial. The only thing he wanted from you was a kiss.”

“So?”

“So the second time, he tells you that Trask is out of jail with the help of his friend, the warden, Bertram. They lure you and all of those involved in the trial by kidnapping your friend. Then I kill him, and we swim into the Tidal Basin. Skinner offers him a job, he declines, and you part again.

“Third time–the KGB agents get out of jail and want Kwan. They kidnap me, Kwan exchanges himself for my life, and he disappears again, only to be seen on ‘Unsolved Mysteries’ as a missing person. Then–what? I wasn’t here. I don’t know.”

“Then he showed up at the bureau. He had gone back to Russia to clear a few things up with their government and was gone longer than expected.”

“I’ll say. When did he arrive?”

“May 7, 2002, I believe. Anyway, he apologized for leaving. We got reacquainted, he started working at the bureau, and we got married the following January.”

“How did he propose?”

“Funny you should ask. It was Christmas eve, and he asked me if I was putting a stocking up. He convinced me to because he said that Santa knew I had been a good girl that year. So I did. The next morning, I got up, checked the stocking, and found an engagement ring. So I went to his apartment, he dropped on one knee and proposed, and—well, history speaks for itself.”

He chuckled. “He must’ve been a romantic guy.”

“Not really. He just had a funny way of expressing his feelings.” She nodded knowingly. “Yeah. Much like you.”

“Should I be flattered?”

“I married him, didn’t I?”

He shrugged. “Thank you.”

“You’re welcome.” She went under water and came back up, smiling. “Now what?”

“Nothing. You’ve … changed, that’s all.”

“Really?”

“You’re not as straightforward as I remember you being.”

“Straightforward?”

“Yeah. Like the time we first met.”

***

Scully stepped out of the elevator and headed for a door at the far end of the hallway. In her two years at the bureau, she had never been into the basement. She read the sign on the door, making sure she had the right room and at the same time wondering how anyone could have such a desolate and unwelcoming office, and knocked. A male voice from within called out, “Sorry, nobody down here but the FBI’s most unwanted.”

Unperturbed, she pushed the ajar door open, seeing a form hunched over at a desk, preparing slides. She looked up, captivated by the countless photos and documents on UFOs and aliens. A poster stood out, one of a UFO with the caption ‘I want to believe’ underneath it in bold, white letters.

The man at the desk looked up, startled.  What’s wrong? They usually go away when I answer like that.  Nevertheless, he sized the woman up. She had red hair, shoulder length. Her eyes held a promise as she smiled down at him, but he didn’t like the feeling she was giving him.

“Agent Mulder.” She approached him, arm outstretched. “I’m Dana Scully. I’ve been assigned to work with you.”

He shook her hand weakly. “Oh, isn’t it nice to be suddenly so highly regarded? So who did you tick off to get stuck with this detail, Scully?” he asked, saying her name scornfully.  Maybe she’ll go away.

“Actually, I’m looking forward to working with you. I’ve heard a lot about you.”

She was different; unfazed by his sarcasm. Maybe she’d be all right. However … “Oh, really? I was under the impression that you were sent to spy on me.”

She raised an eyebrow. “If you have any doubt about my qualifications or credentials–”

He cut her off. “You’re a medical doctor. You teach at the academy.” He dug through a stack of nearby papers and pulled out a portfolio. “You did your undergraduate degree in physics. ‘Einstein’s Twin Paradox–A New Interpretation.’ Dana Scully’s senior thesis. Now that’s the credential: rewriting Einstein.”

He was really grating her nerves. “Did you bother to read it?” she questioned, keeping her voice as steady as possible.

“I did. I liked it.” He loaded the slide projector. “It’s just that, in most of my work the laws of physics rarely seem to apply.”

***

Scully chuckled. “I remember that. You were so annoying, I could barely stand it.”

“And you were so goody-goody.”

She nodded, understanding what he meant. “But we got better.”

“Sure. We bonded.”

“Like the time we were stuck in the Arctic, and we thought you had gotten the worm.”

“And when our fathers died.”

“How about after we met, when I thought that I had those marks?”

“Oh, admit it, Scully,” he teased. “You just wanted to come to my room in your bra and underwear.”

She raised an eyebrow. “Believe what you want, Mulder.”

“I tend to.”

She smiled, gazing at him. “One thing. I’ll try not to be too sentimental. I just want to thank you for protecting me through all those years.”

“You’re welcome.” He shrugged. “My pleasure.”

“You were overbearing at times, but, if you hadn’t been, I wouldn’t be here.”

“Scully, you–” He paused. “You don’t owe me anything. Just … you’re welcome.”

“Another thing.” She pushed herself onto the wooden deck and stood. Mulder did as well. “I wanted to give you something.”

He couldn’t help but grin. “Maybe you do owe me something.”

“Yes, I do. This one is long overdue.” She put a hand on his arm and leaned closer to him. “And you deserve it so much.” With that, she shoved him sideways, watching him splash into the twelve-feet deep water. Shaking her head as he thrashed around like a fish out of water instead of in it, she walked inside her bedroom, locking the patio door behind her.

***

When Mulder finally got inside–she had left the door by the garage unlocked–he vowed revenge. He didn’t know what to do; he just knew he should do something. It couldn’t be violent. He wasn’t in that type of mood. Just something … practical–for him at least. And fun. But he couldn’t figure out what.

Since he was already in the kitchen, he decided to see what type of food he could have for a snack. An idea caught him as he picked up the container of Cool Whip and smirked.

Scully picked up her pajamas from the floor. It was time to take a shower. She walked into the bathroom and started up the water. She stepped inside and shut the curtain.

Mulder made his move. He spooned the whipped cream into her socks. He was seriously considering putting it in her underwear but decided against it. He wasn’t looking to lose an arm.

He had disappeared when she got out of the shower. She put her underwear on, then her large nightshirt. She slipped one foot in a sock. Something didn’t feel right, but she put the other foot in anyway. When she started to walk, she screeched, wrestling with her feet on the floor as she frantically tried to pull them off.

Mulder opened the door and laughed. “The score is one to one, Scully. Why don’t you say we call a truce?”

She groaned at him. He stuck out a hand. She shook it … regretting it the instant she did.

He grinned. “Now it’s two-one, and we made a promise to stop. I win.” He waved the grape jellied hand at her and left.

***

11:45 P.M.

Scully hung up the telephone. “Mom says she’ll keep him for however long it takes.”

He nodded. “Good.”

She finished washing the dishes. “I hope this doesn’t take too long. I’ll miss him.”

“He’ll be fine. Your mom raised you well enough. I’m sure he’ll have the etiquette of a prince by the time you return.”

“He already does. And it was all my mother’s doing.”

“What did you contribute?”

She grunted. “I birthed him. That’s contribution enough.”

He chuckled. “Yep. You’ve definitely changed.”

She slipped her shoes on. “Ready?”

“Yes.”

“Let’s go.”

The drive to the cemetery was quiet. She pulled up along the gates, and they headed inside after she flashed her badge to the guard and made up a phony story. “Did it say where we’re supposed to meet?”

She frowned at him. “You’re the eidetic one. You tell me.”

“The answer would have to be no. But if you were an alien, where would you go?”

“No aliens here,” came a voice. They turned around. “Well, well, Director Scully, Mr. Mulder, it’s been a long time.”

“Krycek. We just keep running into each other, don’t we? You’re looking dapper. Is that Armani?” Mulder questioned. He really wished Scully had given him a gun.

“Very good,” Alex Krycek answered. “Now–shall we?”

Realizing that they were surrounded by many vicious-looking, mob-like henchmen, they followed Krycek to his car. “Where’s Samantha?” Mulder demanded.

“Oh, she’s here on Earth. I have her.” He sneered. “And now I have you.”

***

1:15 A.M.

Mulder had no idea where he was. Krycek had locked Scully and him in the trunk, cramped together for an hour. He had finally stopped driving and let them out. They were by the ocean, going into a warehouse by some docks. He shoved them through the entrance. “Keep going. Where’s your gun, Director? I think that I should have it now. Slowly.”

She pulled it out and handed it to him. Mulder sighed.  If I was her, I would’ve shot him on the spot.

Krycek tucked it away. “Now, if you have one, Mulder, I suggest you hand it over.”

“I lost my license.”

“Of course. The retired FBI agent. Well, no matter.”

A woman was heading towards them in the hallway. Krycek opened a door leading to a small room where he planned to keep the duo. The woman met Mulder’s gaze. “Fox?” she uttered in shock.

“Samantha,” he whispered. Krycek booted him into the room. “Samantha!” The door shut after Scully had stumbled in. He banged on it. “Let me out!”

Krycek ignored the pounding, turning to the woman, his voice immediately softer. “What are you doing out here? Your medication hasn’t worn off, and we agreed that you wouldn’t get up.”

“Was that Fox?”

“Samantha–”

“Was that my brother?” she demanded.

“Yes. But will you–”

“What are you going to do to him?”

He sighed. “I really hate to do this.” He held out a needle. “Hold still.”

After a weak struggle, she slumped to him, and he dragged her back to her room, locking the door.

His best assistant, Ripley Bell, approached him. “Alex, what are you doing to her?”

“There’s only a certain amount of freedom you can offer a woman.”

“They told us not to hurt her.”

“I didn’t hurt her. Besides, I don’t care what They said. They aren’t here anymore.”

“But, Alex, They are watching.”

He sighed. “How can you even believe that UFO stuff? God, you’re as bad as Mulder.”

***

Mulder pounded on the door with the remainder of his strength, then slid down it. “Dammit.”

Scully glanced at him. “I’m sorry, Mulder.”

“There’s nothing you can do. There’s nothing anyone can do.”

“Except hope.” She smiled, but he wouldn’t lighten up. “Well, at least you know that she wasn’t harmed. That the Voice wasn’t lying.”

“What do you know about it?” he yelled bitterly. Mad at himself for his outbreak, he got up and sat on the wall opposite her.

The room they were in was completely bare … and dark. He hoped Krycek would bring a flashlight or some sort of illumination. The walls were wood; the ground, cement. The door was made of a thick metal. He wondered what type of warehouse this was.

Krycek opened the door and handed Scully a lantern of sorts. “Here.”

“What are you going to do with us?” she asked him.

“Kill you.” He smiled evilly. “Synchronize your watches everyone; the death bells that I’ve been longing to hear ring at dawn.” He left, the light burning brightly for such a little contraption.

He stared at Scully. She was hugging her folded legs to her chest, cheek on her knees. A bloody spot on her head clumped part of her hair together. “Hey, Scully?” he called several lonely minutes later.

She looked up. “What?”

“Come here.”

She crawled across the room to him, hugging him instantly. “What are we going to do?” she whispered sadly.

“Hope,” he replied, kissing her head, rubbing her arms.

They sat there for quite some time, eventually dozing off. When Mulder woke up, he immediately checked his watch. Sunrise was at 6:42; it was 4:23. He sighed heavily.  Not much time left.

Scully awoke with a start, sitting up quickly. “Oh. I had this crazy–” She looked around. “It wasn’t a dream.”

He shook his head. “Nope. We’re stuck in a warehouse, God knows how far from Washington, ready to be eradicated by Alex Krycek.” He frowned. “I’m going to haunt him.”

She regarded him for a long time, tears welling up in her eyes. “Mulder, there’s–there’s something I have to tell you.”

He nodded, prompting her to continue.

“That night we made love–you gave me something no man ever had before.”

He felt slightly flushed. “You weren’t so bad yourself.”

“No, no, what I mean is …” She struggled with the words, choosing them carefully, enunciating them slowly. “You gave me … a son, born December 12, 2002, named Adam William Scully.”

His hold on her broke, and he stood, backing up from her a step. “I did what?” His voice was surprisingly calm.

“I–I got pregnant. I don’t know how; there must’ve been a small tear that we didn’t see. But I know he’s yours. And so does everyone else.”

“Everyone as in who? Your family? Your friends?”

“No, I mean everyone.”

He sighed. “Why didn’t you tell me?”

“I couldn’t. When I first had him, I was helped by Kwan. I wanted to tell you, but I didn’t know where to reach you. And when you came back … I was afraid. It seemed like I could tell anyone except you. I wasn’t ready.” She sobbed. “I’m sorry. Now we’ll never see him again.”

He knelt to her, his heart warm and his face smiling. “No, Scully, I don’t mind. I mean, sure it’s a shock. It must’ve been to you.”

She looked up at him. “You’re not mad?”

“No. Why would I be? It was no one’s fault. We used protection. We were just one couple out of the three percent that it didn’t work with. I’m not upset. I love you. Or is it still hard to accept that fact?”

“Yeah. Hard.”

He hugged her. “It’s amazing. No wonder that clerk at the grocery store said that Adam and I looked alike.” He paused. “Oh, I see. I don’t know why I didn’t see all the signs. You wouldn’t give me his exact age. I couldn’t see the baby pictures. The photographic memory. It all fits.”

“Oh, he’s so smart. The teachers at the preschool were amazed by his memorization skills. He can read at a second to third grade level. The principal at the school he’ll be attending in the fall recommends that he skip two grades after kindergarten.”

“Ah, the dynamics of sex.”

She giggled, then frowned. “Why are you taking this so lightly? Is it because death is imminent?”

“No.” He shook his head, sure of himself. “It’s just that … I don’t know. I’m happy. Tell me everything about him, Scully. Everything.” He held her in his arms. “Starting with the day you learned that you were pregnant.”

She took a breath. “It was the day Kwan returned, in May. I had already skipped once in my oh-so-timely monthly cycle, but I figured that it was because I was so keyed up on being the director. That’s happened once before. But we went out to lunch. I ate like I had been starving for years. He knew something was wrong.”

***

May 7, 2002
12:45 P.M.

“Dana?”

Scully looked up from her banana split. “What?”

“Can I tell you something? Take no offense.”

“Sure.” She managed to ignore the dish for a few moments.

“Aren’t you eating a little too much? I mean, I haven’t seen you eat this much the whole time I’ve known you.”

She frowned at her dessert. “You know, I’ve noticed that, too. Also, I’ve been sick to my stomach lately and really tired. But the only thing with all those symptoms is a preg–” She stopped short of the word. “Oh, God. And I’ve skipped.” She threw some money on the table. “Come with me.”

They ran to a nearby store, where she bought a home pregnancy test. She followed the instructions and waited, her eyes red and puffy. Kwan held her, offering as much support as he could.

After three minutes, she took a deep breath and read the results. She hiccuped. “I’m pregnant. There must be some mistake.” She frantically searched for the directions. “We took the necessary precautions. I must’ve read it wrong. Maybe I–”

“Dana.” He grabbed her shaking hands. “You didn’t read it wrong.”

She began to weep again. “What am I going to do? I can’t have a baby.”

“First off, you have my support. I’ll help you. I was planning on staying in Washington for quite a while anyway.”

She kissed his cheek. “Thank you.”

“Next you have to call the father.”

“But I can’t. I don’t know where he …” Her voice trailed off when she realized just who the father was.

“Who is it, Dana?”

“Mulder.”

***

He sighed. “That month, I was in England, visiting my old alma mater.”

“I was so unprepared. And what a time–I get a new job, and I have to go have a baby.”

“I suppose you were upset.”

“Upset, yes, because you weren’t there. But I was never mad at you for getting me pregnant. After all, it takes two. And since having sex was my choice, too, I had to live with the consequences.”

He smiled. “You grew. That’s why you’re not as straightforward as before.”

“Yeah. But anyway.” She shrugged. “The birth was painful, of course, but I was so intent on having Adam that I pushed and pushed. I really wanted to get out of there. I couldn’t live with having Steve stare at me like I was some cheap callgirl. I was planning on having my own doctor deliver. But the labor came unexpectedly; we were out at dinner, nearby the hospital, and my water broke. So Kwan rushed me right over, and Steve just happened to be in E.R.”

“He must’ve been surprised and angry.”

“He was–when he found out you were the father.” Steve could handle Kwan–he had saved her life for which he was grateful–but Mulder was definitely a problem.

Mulder laughed. “Oh, it had to have been a Kodak moment.”

“It was. But afterwards, I had Adam, using the middle name William for a simple reason. It was both of our father’s names. The only way I could link Adam as ‘our child’ without having you there.”

He smiled. “Interesting. So he’s smart? I could tell.”

“How can he have a photographic memory if you do?”

“The ones in our family are odd. They go two generations, then skip two. Don’t ask me how or why. I won’t pretend to know. It just happened that way.”

She smiled the only smile that belonged solely to mothers of every form. “I’m so proud of him. He’s wonderful.”

“Like I said, the dynamics of sex. It’s amazing.”

Someone opened the door, pushing two plates of food in and leaving.

“Do you think it’s poisoned?” she asked.

“No. Krycek is liable to have us go out with a bang.”

She sighed, bringing the dishes to them. “Eat up. This could very well be our last meal.” However, she hardly touched it.

He looked at his watch. “It’s five already.”

“Mulder?” she began cautiously.

“What?”

“I have something else I need to confess.” He enclosed her in his arms, but she pushed away. “No, wait. I’ve been thinking a lot about what you said when you told me you loved me.”

He took her hand. “And what did you decide?”

“I thought about all the times I was without you. I was … different somehow. You taught me how to lighten up a little. I had to make myself believe that you were still here.”

He nodded. He wasn’t quite sure what she was getting at, but he had a feeling he was going to find out soon enough.

“When I was with Frank,” she began, using his first name affectionately, “I felt very safe. He was never overprotective. Best of all, he was always there. Whenever I needed him, he knew how to make me feel better. I was the only woman he ever loved so I felt special. There was no competition. To him, I always came first. And I loved him so much. Yet …” She sighed. “There was something missing.” She paused for a long time before continuing, unsure of what she had to say. “I think what you said pretty much sums it up for me, too.”

He frowned, then realized that she was talking about his confession. “Which part?”

“All of it. My feelings were buried so deep that I didn’t even know they were there. That’s why they never interfered with my feelings for Kwan; I didn’t know I had them. I knew that I felt something for you, but I hadn’t been sure what it was. Once, I figured it was just infatuation because it was easy to have those types of feelings for a close friend. So I dismissed them. But after you told me you loved me, I had to stop and think.” She smiled briefly, faintly. “I’ve been thinking all this time. And, yeah … I think I love you. I don’t know how or why, but I do.”

He squeezed her happily until she nearly gagged and let go. “Thank you.”

“I didn’t do it for your benefit. I had to do it for my own. If I hadn’t, I would have…” She grinned. “You’re welcome.”

He leaned into her and kissed her the same way he had on their first night together. Then he rocked back on his heels and gazed at her. “I love you.”

She smiled. “I love you, too.”

End of Part 3

Comments are love - post yours here:

