Distractions 2/4

Distractions
Co-authored with Ra Enright
Written October 1995
Rated PG
Synopsis: Mulder falls for an agent-in-training, unaware of her true identity.

Disclaimer: The characters you recognize belong to Chris Carter, 1013 Productions, and Fox Television. No infringement is intended. Mark Bryan, Bob Dylan, Dean Felber, Darius Rucker, and Jim Sonefeld wrote the words and music for “Only Wanna Be With You” by Hootie and the Blowfish, and Alanis Morissette and Glen Ballard wrote the words and music for “Head Over Feet” by Alanis Morissette.  No infringement is intended.

A Youtube version of “Only Wanna Be With You” can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ln6WQqRDrCo
A Youtube version of “Head Over Feet” can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBgP44KEf3Q


“Oh, wow . . . ”

When Mulder awakened, he had a headache the size of Asia and a bladder not much smaller. He recalled a dream he had had and sighed.  Where am I?  His eyes adjusted to the darkness and found the room familiar but not his own.  Ah, now I remember. I’m at Scully’s.

And sure enough, sleeping on his shoulder was his partner, breathing softly. He slowly moved aside and let her slide down the couch. He heard a deep growl and looked at his stomach.  Jeez, I didn’t think I was hungry.  He stood and heard the noise again.  What is that?  Shaking his head, he pulled the quilt off the back of the couch and gently laid it over Scully’s sleeping form. A set of sharp teeth clamped down on his finger, and he cried out in pain.

Scully shot upright, and Queequeg began to bark. She turned on the lamp next to her and looked around. Her dog was attacking Mulder. “Queequeg, stop it!” She grabbed his furry little body and put it on the floor. “Bad dog!” she scolded, wagging her finger at it.

He scurried off, whimpering. Mulder shook his hand out, surprised that such a small dog like a Pomeranian could inflict so much pain.

She sighed. “I’m sorry, Mulder. Here, let me get you some ice to put on that.”

He reached for her arm and clasped it briefly. “It’s okay. I need to be getting home anyway.”

She glanced at the clock. “Wow, it’s one-thirty. Maybe you should.”

He found his coat and slid it on. Scully reappeared with a video in her hand. “I don’t want this thing around my house.”

He grinned. “You’re sure.”

“Yes, Mulder. And remember, lunch Monday. Quantico cafeteria. Don’t be late.”

He tapped his forehead. “My photographic memory won’t fail.” As an afterthought, he asked, “Hey, Scully, did you wake up mid-way during the night?”

“As a matter of fact, I did. I turned off the television.”

“Was I talking in my sleep again?” He didn’t want her to know about Kent.

One word flashed in her mind: Angela. She felt a pang of jealousy, her conscience sang out.  Oh, can it, she replied. “No, Mulder.”  Liar.

“Okay. There hasn’t been a night recently where I didn’t talk to myself.”

Oh, so you admit to having these dreams at other times, Mulder?  “I’m sorry to hear that. Maybe you should see a doctor.”  Jerk.

“No, I’m sure it’s just a . . . harmless little thing. I’ll get over it. Good night, Scully.” He smiled and left, closing the door behind him.

***

Monday Morning

Mulder stumbled into class. The only person there was Angela. “Good morning.”

She stood up. “Hi. Have a nice weekend?”

“Oh, yeah. Took in a couple of movies, went out, the usual.” He plopped his briefcase on the desk and exhaled sharply. “Monday, Monday, can’t trust that day.”

She smiled slightly. “The Mamas and the Papas.”

“Oh, you know them?”

“Know them? I love them!” She rolled her eyes at his frown. “Just because I didn’t live the period doesn’t mean I can’t listen to it. I like oldies a lot, but I listen to everything else, too.”

He grinned.  Someone who listens to all types of music. Very good.  “So what did you do this weekend?”

“I spent time with my brother, Alex.”

“Oh, I’m sure he enjoyed it.”

She nodded. “Ever since our mother died, we’ve gotten closer.”

“I know the feeling.” He started scribbling something down on the chalkboard. “Where’s my . . .?” He spotted the notebook on his briefcase and snatched it up.

Angela watched him, frowning. “What are you doing?”

“Well, we were going to watch a training film, but the guy who was supposed to give it to me accidentally recorded WWF wrestling over it, so we have to go for the next best thing. Demonstration. I’ve called in a few people to come and . . . ”

***

” . . . here they are to show you the proper way to handle a hostage situation.” Mulder stepped aside and began to watch a few agents from the bureau explain the procedure they were about to demonstrate. He got distracted when he noticed Angela perk up, sitting in the middle row, first seat.

She really was attractive, he had decided. Today, her honey blonde hair was in a sophisticated French braid. Her white blouse was neatly pressed, and her navy blue skirt was form-fitting and rather short as far as bureau standards were concerned.  A nice touch.  He smiled ever so slightly, entertaining thoughts about her that didn’t belong in the workplace . . . or anywhere else for that matter.  Except maybe a bedroom . . . He chuckled softly, recalling the dream he had had last night.

It was unintentional, of course. And having it at Scully’s house was all the more disturbing. But it was definitely a dream worth having again. He wondered if maybe he had called out to her in the night, and Scully didn’t know.  Or she didn’t tell me. But that’s just not like Scully.

He had made a decision; he was going to ask Angela to have lunch with him. Odds were that she’d say yes. He could ask her for dinner, too, unless her brother interfered.  If she insisted, he could come along as well,  he inferred.  Of course, three’s always a crowd.

When everyone began clapping, he fell back into rhythm with reality and joined in. He glanced at the clock.  Whoa, class is almost out. I guess recalling that dream really took some time.

The bell began to ring. Everyone grabbed their bags and headed out. Angela went up to him. “I’m glad that man taped over the video. This was great.”

“Hey, would you like to have lunch with me today? The cafeteria gets to be a lonely place.”

She grinned. “Sure. Should I meet you there or come here first?”

“How far out of your way would you have to come?”

“Not far. I’ll come here, okay?”

“Okay.”

“I’ll see you at lunch then,” she said, smiling a million dollar smile that anyone on a toothpaste commercial could flash.

“Bye.” He watched her strut out of class, his heart pounding.  Lunch with Angela . . . oh, this will be heaven.  He breezed his way through the rest of the morning.

***

Mulder was still seated at his desk when Angela entered the classroom. “Ready, Agent Mulder?”

He looked up and smiled. “Yes. Let’s go.” He grabbed his briefcase and happily followed her to the lunchroom.

They took a table near the salad bar since they were both starving. Angela had remarked, “I am so hungry, I could eat a horse,” and Mulder had deftly replied, “Sorry, but I read on the menu that they were all out of horses.” She had only laughed. So Mulder ordered a Caesar’s salad, and Angela had a juicy hamburger with the works on sourdough bread with an extra large order of French fries on the side.

“Oh, I see,” Mulder said when the food had arrived. “You’re on a diet.”

She giggled. “Something like that. But I don’t have to work to keep my weight down. I have a high metabolism rate.”

“You’re always so energetic, I doubt you’d have a problem keeping it down with or without high metabolism.”

“Yeah, but I’ve always wanted to be one of those naturally beautiful women that don’t even need makeup to look gorgeous.”

“Oh?”

“Mmm hmm, like that woman,” she remarked, using her French fry to point her out. “She’s petite, she’s gorgeous, and she probably has tons of guys on her heels.”

Mulder looked up and nearly choked on his tomato.  Oh, damn.  Scully was heading towards him, briefcase in hand.  That’s what I forgot!  He stood, bumping his knee on the bottom of the table and tipping over his water glass. “Oh, Scully, hi, I–”

She smiled at him, then looked at the blonde woman accompanying him.  Why does she look familiar to me? I’ve never seen her before . . . No matter. On to Mulder.  “Let me guess, you forgot.”

“No, not me, I was merely . . . ” He felt guilty under her gaze, which was icy cold. ” . . . going to introduce you to the future head of the FBI, Angela Kent. She’s one of my brightest students. Angela, this is my partner, Dana Scully.”  Good save,  he compliment himself.

“Oh, so you’re Angela,” Scully remarked, shaking hands with her. “I’ve heard so much about you.”

Mulder frowned. Now, under normal circumstances, his photographic memory never failed. But he could not remember telling Scully anything about Angela Kent.  I was right; I did talk in my sleep! I wonder what I said . . .

“Likewise,” Angela commented, smiling brightly. “Agent Mulder always uses your relationship when he lectures on the importance of a good partner.”

Scully raised an eyebrow. “Really? How interesting. Well, I can see you two are having a nice lunch now so I’ll just–”

“Oh, nonsense!” she interrupted. “I want to hear all about you. What Agent Mulder tells us is limited, and I want to compare what he says to how you really are.”

She snuck a glance at Mulder, who looked like he was about to die.  I wonder why . . . she thought sarcastically. “Thank you, I think I will.” She smiled evilly in Mulder’s direction and pulled out the nearest chair. “So, Ms. Kent–”

“Oh, no, please, it’s Angela.”

“Angela, then, tell me a little about yourself. What I heard Mulder say of you was enough to get a clear mental image of you, but still, I’d love to hear all about you.”

Mulder smiled the biggest faux pas one he’d ever displayed in his life.  Scully will pay dearly for this. She really will. I hope Frohike still has the hots for her . . .

***

“Well,” Angela was saying, “there isn’t really much to tell. Normal childhood, one older brother, single parent family–we had it rough, but not that bad. Then Alex left, and after mom died I went to live with him.”

“Alex is your brother?” Scully asked, watching Mulder out of the corner of her eye. He was looking very uncomfortable. Well, good.

“Half-brother, really, but we’re close. He’s. . . um. . . a lawyer,” she stammered.

“I see.” Scully, sensing some uneasiness, moved on. “And you decided to go into law enforcement on the business end?”

“You could say that.” Angela looked relieved. “Besides, it’s a great way to meet guys. I heard the ratio was something like one to ten, women to men.” She glanced adoringly at Mulder, who was busy gauging Scully’s reaction. This conversation was taking a very dangerous turn.

“Just watch out for the older agents. Some of them can be dangerous,” Scully said meaningfully.

Angela brushed it off with a laugh. “Yeah, right. I’ll remember that.”

“Mulder, I’ve got to be back at the bureau in about ten minutes, so I’d better go.” Scully picked up her bag. “Nice meeting you, Angela.”  Don’t think it hasn’t been a little slice of heaven. . . ’cause it hasn’t. . .

Mulder watched her go. Oh, she’d pay for that, but he supposed he deserved it. He could hear her–Really, Mulder, she’s barely twenty-one. . . and she’s your student for god’s sake! What could you possibly be thinking

Of course, he knew she’d been thinking similar things when she’d met Phoebe Greene, but that had been different. That was trouble from the beginning. But Angela. . . she reminded him of Scully a bit, he realized, even though they were completely different. There was just something in her face. . .

Listen to yourself, you sound like a high-school kid again. First crush. . .

And of course, it was totally against the FBI’s cardinal rule of noninvolvement, even if she wasn’t his partner, she was his student, which was probably worse. You didn’t have to grade your partner, after all.

Still, she didn’t seem totally turned off by him. . . and it wasn’t like she had to try all that hard to pass his course. . .

***

Monday Evening

“Agent Mulder! Agent Mulder!”

Mulder whirled in the parking lot, hand automatically going for his gun on his hip.  Dolt, this is Quantico, nobody’s going to jump you!

He relaxed as Angela’s familiar figure stepped out into the lamplight nearby. And a very nice figure it is, too. . . he watched her run up admiringly.

“I’m so glad I caught you!” She smiled at him. “I was wondering if I could get a ride home–Alex said he had to work late, and I don’t want to walk. . . ”

“Of course.” He unlocked his car. “Where to?”

“Are you sure?” She hesitated. “It’s pretty out of the way.”

“No problem. It’s not like I have to be home soon anyway.” He shrugged.

“Won’t your girlfriend be mad?”

He sighed. “What’s a girlfriend?”

“Oh, come on.” She smiled. “Don’t tell me you haven’t got women beating down your door.”

“Sad but true. ‘Spooky’ Mulder, remember?” He climbed in.

“Oh.” She opened the passenger door. “That’s a shame.”

“Not really.”

“Aren’t you lonely?”

“I’ve got my work, and I’ve got Scully. I get along.” He turned the car on. “Now, where do I drive?”

“Tell you what.” Angela smiled. “You’re driving me home, let me treat you to dinner.”

Thank you, God, somebody up there likes me.

***

“Angela?” Alex called. “Angel, you here?” He tossed his keys on the table and glanced around. Where was that girl?

“In here, Alex.” She called from her bedroom. He looked in. “You look exhausted.”

“I’ve had the most wonderful day, Lex, you wouldn’t believe it.” She lay sprawled across her bed, her books dumped on the floor.

He smiled lightly. “Ah really. What happened?”

“Okay.” She sat up. “You know that guy I told you about?”

“Oh, you mean that instructor, what’s his name? Dog, Dog somethingorother?”

She rolled her eyes. “Fox Mulder.”

“Knew it was a small furry animal.” He snapped his fingers. “What about him?”

“Well, we ate lunch today, and his partner is just this really nice person, and he gave me a ride home and we had dinner together. . . and he doesn’t have a girlfriend. . . ”

“Why am I not surprised.” Alex murmured.

“What?”

“Nothing, sis.” He put on a fake smile. “Just talking to myself.”

“So anyway, I think he likes me.”

“You’ve had dinner?” he asked quietly. “I got Chinese.”

“I’ll take it for lunch tomorrow.” She grinned. “Lex, you’re grumpy tonight.”

“Bad day at the office.”

“Man, I wish you’d tell me what you do. I had to tell Mulder and Agent Scully that you were a lawyer.”

He laughed. “A lawyer? Nice one, Angela. Look, I’m gonna have to go out tomorrow. You can invite Dog over here if you’d like.”

FOX, grouch.”

“Dog, Fox, what’s the difference. I should be out until Thursday. Will you be okay?”

“I’m twenty-one, Lex. I think I can handle myself.” Angela reached over and switched on her radio as Alex left, grinning.

You’n’me, we come from different worlds,
You like to laugh at me when I look at other girls. . .
Sometimes you’re crazy, then you wonder why
I’m such a baby, cuz the Dolphins make me cry. . .

She smiled. Mulder. . . Fox?. . . Mulder was certainly from a different world. He was crazy; well, not really, but he was funny. She started to sing along, snickering.

Oh I’m tangled up in blue,
I only wanna be with you. . .

***

Mulder sighed.  Angela, Angela, Angela.  He wondered what it was about her that made his head swim. Was it her hair, her eyes, her . . .

He snickered lightly, turning on the radio to his favorite station.

Well, there’s nothing I can do
I’ve been lookin’ for a girl like you . . .

He grinned. He liked Hootie and the Blowfish a lot.

I just wanna love you but you wanna wear my ring
Well, there’s nothing I can do
I only wanna be with you
You can call me your fool
I only wanna be with you

The telephone rang. He picked it up, exceedingly cheerful. “Hello?”

Hello?  Scully thought.  He never answers with hello.  “Um, hi, Mulder.”

“Scully! Well, what did you do today?”

“I worked. Why? What did you do after I left?”

“Well, I had dinner.”

“Wouldn’t have happened to have it with a certain young blonde woman, would you?”

“Um, maybe.” He couldn’t hide the smile in his voice. “Yes, it was with Angela.”

“Mulder, you know that you should never get involved with anyone you work with. That includes partners and students.”

He switched into joking mode. “I guess that means we can’t get married and have children together, eh, Scully?”

“Dammit, Mulder, you know what I mean.”

“Ooh, Scully . . . are you jealous?” He knew he hit a soft spot.

She stiffened. “No.”  Liar, her conscious rang in.

He dismissed it. “Look, I know what you’re thinking, but it’s not what you think.”

“What do I think?”

“Well, think about it.” He frowned. “You think I’m infatuated with Angela Kent. Well, I hate to tell you, but you’re wrong.”

“Oh, am I? Mulder, I saw the way you looked at her. I haven’t seen you look at a woman like that since–” She cut herself off.

“Phoebe Greene, were you going to say? Well, you were jealous then, too.”

She scoffed. “Mulder, this isn’t about me. This is about you and your . . . ” She paused, searching for the right word. “Fascination with your student. That’s all she is, and that’s all she’s entitled to be until she graduates, and then that won’t work since you’ll essentially be partners since she’s looking into the V.C. section.”

He grunted. “Oh, that’s it, Scully. I’m calling Frohike.”

“Mu–Mulder, you’re insane! What does Frohike have to do with anything?”

“You’re in luck because you’re about to find out.”

She repeated his name into the phone until the dial tone blared in her ear. Sighing, she hung up.

Mulder never did call Frohike; he wasn’t that upset at Scully. He never could understand why women were so good at reading men.  I mean, I could try and try and try and never read Scully. Yet she seems to know all. ‘Women’s intuition’ she calls it. I call it irritating.

***

Friday Evening

Mulder looked up at the clock. 5:30. “Damn.” He had wanted to leave a half an hour ago, to get a head start on his trip back to Washington. He shoved files into his briefcase and headed for the door, nearly bumping into a woman on the other side. “Oh, I’m sorry . . . Angela, hi.”

She grinned. “Hey, Agent Mulder. Look, I hate to ask you this again–twice in a week–but Alex called last night and said he needed my car. He dropped me off here this morning, but I don’t have a way to get home.”

He cocked his head, watching her. “I have an idea. Let’s get you home, then go to Washington for dinner and a movie. Or dinner and dancing. Or dinner and coffee. Or–”

She giggled. “Sounds fine.”

“Great. Let’s go.”

***

They ate at America, in Union Station, and then headed down to a nightclub called Déjà Vu. They were playing alternative tunes. Mulder led Angela inside. “I love this place. They play a lot of good songs.”

She grinned. “I’m sure they do. Let’s dance.” He watched her from behind as he followed her out to the dance floor. She had a nice swing to her walk. She was wearing a short, emerald green cocktail dress that had spaghetti straps. Her long, blonde hair was swept into a French roll.

He moved easily with her. She was a great dancer. He found himself losing track of time, enjoying her company a little too much.  What could happen? he wondered as he watched her perform a well-practiced move.  We could fall in love, get married, have children . . . get shot. No, I run that risk every day anyway.  Unintentionally, his thoughts drifted to Scully. What would he do if she was killed? Probably go on a rampage until he found her killers. Unless it was me who killed her.  But then he realized the scent of Angela’s perfume was making his mind drift in and out of reality. He would never kill Scully.

A slow song came on, and Mulder smiled, taking Angela into his arms. She felt good to hold, so good.

You treat me like I’m a princess
I’m not used to liking that
You ask how my day was

Mulder sighed softly into Angela’s hair. He recognized the song vaguely. He’d probably heard it over at the Lone Gunman’s or something. It was great just the same. His grip on her tightened ever so slightly.

You’ve already won me over in spite of me
Don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
And don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
I couldn’t help it
It’s all your fault

Angela often wondered what heaven would be like. She figured that it must be like this, or something close to this. It took her a while to realize that she was in Fox Mulder’s arms, dancing with him, holding him tenderly. And that it was the most wonderful thing in the world.

I’ve never felt this healthy before
I’ve never wanted something rational
I am aware now
I am aware now

Mulder gazed deep into Angela’s azure eyes, feeling lost. And suddenly he didn’t care if the whole world saw him with her. He didn’t care if Assistant Director Skinner saw him dating a student. He didn’t care if Scully was jealous, if Elvis was alive, or if aliens landed right in front of him. Just as long as Angela was with him.

He bent down and kissed her with all the passion he could . . . and fell in love.

End of Part 2

“The moment we indulge our affections, the earth is metamorphosed, there is no winter and no night; all tragedies, all ennuis, vanish,–all duties even.”
–Ralph Waldo Emerson–

Comments are love - post yours here:

