That’s Where It Is

That’s Where It Is
Written April 2002
Rated G
Synopsis: Does Michael love Nikita? She wants to know. How can she tell if he loves her so? Madeline knows!

Disclaimer: The characters within are property of LFN Productions, Warner Bros., and USA Network.  The story (obviously) references “The Shoop Shoop Song (It’s in His Kiss)” written by Rudy Clark.  No infringement is intended.


Nikita barged into Madeline’s office, nearly tripping down the stairs in her rage. “He tricked me!” she heaved, glaring at her superior, hands defiantly slapped on her hips. She was tired of being deceived and headed straight to the source of her frustration.

“What?” Madeline asked absently, pressing a few more buttons on her keyboard before lifting her head.

She slammed her palms on the desktop. “Michael. You made him lie to me.”

“Me?”

“I’m not buying the innocent routine, Madeline, not this time. He seduced me so I would focus on the mission. He knew that I wouldn’t willingly go through with sleeping with Veranza, so he seduced me, gave me a reason to do it.”

“What did he tell you?”

“That by completing my mission, we could be together. Of course, now that the mission is over, he won’t speak to me.”

“Nikita, if Michael used seduction to get you to obey, I didn’t know about it.”

“Then Operations did it!” Suddenly tired, she flopped into the chair and pouted. “How can the two of you be so cruel, toying with my emotions like that?”

“I think your anger is misplaced. Michael toyed with your emotions, not Operations and me.” She softened her tone, reading the sadness on Nikita’s face. “What’s really bothering you?”

“I…” She sighed heavily. “Sometimes I think he really cares for me, and then this happens, and I have no clue. I mean, does he love me? I want to know. I’m tired of being played a fool.” Nikita looked at Madeline. “How can I tell if he loves me? Is it in his eyes?”

“Oh, no. You’ll be deceived. This is Michael we’re talking about. He mastered the emotionless stare without much instruction for me. It’s not in his eyes; that’s make-believe. If you want to know if he loves you…” She stood and approached the delicate orchid on her stand. “It’s in his kiss.”

That’s where it is?” Nikita frowned. “Well, is it in his face?”

“No, that’s just his charms. Emotionless stare, remember?”

“Well, how about his–” She grinned wickedly. “–warm embrace?”

“No, that’s just his arms. If you want to know if he loves you, like I said, it’s in his kiss.” Madeline sat in the chair next to her. “Hug him, squeeze him tight, and find out what you want to know. If it’s love–if it really is–it’s there in his kiss.”

“He’d have to kiss me first…”

“Hmm.” Standing again, she picked up an atomizer and sprayed a mist of water over her flower, assuming the conversation was finished. She had, after all, effectively answered Nikita’s question.

Nikita tilted her head to one side, pondering over Madeline’s advice. It just didn’t seem right; she could tell if Michael loved her just by his kiss? There had to be something else… “Well, how about the way he acts?”

Trying not to roll her eyes, Madeline said, “No, that’s not the way. And you’re not listening to all that I say. If you want to know if he loves you so, it’s in his kiss. That’s where it is.”

Nikita had the sudden urge to say ‘Shoop shoop’ but remained silent. “It’s in his kiss. That’s where it is.” Shrugging, she climbed to her feet. “Thanks for the advice, Madeline. You should write a song about it.” The doors slid open, and Operations walked in. Casting him an angry glare, she walked out.

“What was that about?” he wondered aloud, approaching his second-in-command.

“Did you ask Michael to seduce Nikita so she would succeed on her latest mission?”

“Yes. I knew she wouldn’t have sex with a terrorist without some sort of incentive, so I gave her Michael.” Madeline shook her head at him, and he frowned. “What?”

“Now Nikita is trying to determine if Michael loves her. She wants to know what kind of things to look for.”

“What did you tell her?”

It was becoming a mantra, and Madeline sighed inwardly. “I said if she wants to know if he loves her, it’s in his kiss.”

“That’s where it is?” Operations paused, a puzzled expression on his face. “Well, what about his eyes, or his embrace, or even the way he acts around her?”

“It’s in his kiss,” she repeated irritably. “That’s where it is.”

“Oh.” A grin appeared on his face. “Does the same apply to women? If I wanted to know if, say, you loved me, would it be in your kiss?”

She returned the gaze. “Possibly…”

He pressed his lips to hers softly. When he finished his experiment, he pulled away and smiled again. “That’s where it is.”

The End

Comments are love - post yours here:

